Why You So Obsessed with Me?

Things are looking up.

They always were, actually; there were just a few clouds blurring my vision of my personal and academic goals whilst here that made it seem otherwise.

I’m not saying that everything is now peachy clean – I’m only two weeks in, so that’s too soon to say – but to finally grasp even a portion of the rhythm of a new environment is just such a relief.

After getting over the hump of an introduction, I’ve started to make other observations while busy-bodying around here (which we do quite often).

One very prominent aspect is the blending of cultures.

Caño Palma is a Canadian biological station situated in Costa Ríca and open to volunteers and interns from around the world.

Luckily for me, I get to experience cultural bits and pieces from people all over while staying put in one place.

So far I’ve encountered Germans, met a few close-to-home Canadians (of course), acquainted myself with a Belgian, befriended a Britain, and joked with a few Dutch.

I also can’t forget the Costa Rícan interactions I have been able to grab ahold of with the station’s weekly cook, Cenia. She is absolutely wonderful, and helping my español greatly (gracias Cenia!).

It’s a bit of a shocker to experience so many different accents and customs so quickly, but fascinating nonetheless.

Still, if there is one thing I can say that is consistent throughout all the cultures at this station (and it may be due to the purpose of the station itself) is the persistent characteristics of passion and dedication.

Whether volunteers or interns, the people from these cultures are all very passionate about what they do here. Even more inspiring, they are all genuinely passionate about life, which a young person like me needs to be surrounded by more, I must say.

Their passionate spirits are really pushing me to be in the same mindset.

I can’t honestly say that I am around such passionate people all too much in my daily life; nor can I say that I am just as passionate about something as my fellow comrades.

I want to be.

But it’s a leap becoming so passionate about something that one will do whatever it takes to accomplish it.

Still, you can’t fall if you don’t climb. But there’s no joy in living your whole life on the ground.

So I think it’s about time I start flying, soaring, until the only thing I can see is the sky.

And there’s no where else to go but up.

Pura vida,
Moi

Music for the Moment:

2 thoughts on “Why You So Obsessed with Me?

  1. Hey Anna Banana, Simply loved this post. As the song of the moment says “If I can see it, then I can do it, If I just believe it, there’s nothing to it.” Everything starts or falls with the mind/heart. As Proverbs 23:7 says “As a man thinks in his heart so is he.” If we could grasp the fullness of all that means then we would better understand that our actions and reactions are all the result of the thoughts we meditate on. So if we’re not happy with our actions, we simply have to learn to have different thoughts ….. BETTER ONES! Have a great week!!Love Auntie Heather

    Date: Sun, 9 Jun 2013 01:04:36 +0000 To: hruss78@hotmail.com

    • Thank you SO MUCH, Auntie Heather! I got the inspiration from your last email, which really truly helped. I’m so thankful to have you give me uplifting words that are actually getting me through it all. So thank you and love you :’) ❤

Leave a Reply

