I.M.POSSIBLE.

So I’m finally nearing the end of my first week here at Caño Palma station, and truthfully, I have never been this doubtful in my entire life.

You know you’re not in a good place when you’re counting down the days just to see them go by.

People always say, “Don’t have high standards and you won’t get screwed over.” For me, I was just unaware of what exactly I had to put a standard on.

I came into this trip thinking basically. Like how I started my last post, I really believed I was just here to save turtles.

As the days passed by this week, I was demonstrated as well as participated in the intricate, rigorous workings that the staff here have to do constantly, everyday, non-stop.

My emotions have never been so roller-coasterish, to say frankly. Some moments I am happy and believe I can make it and it’s really not that bad; but other times, like now as I write this post, my confidence is low and my heart yearns for home which I already miss dearly.

A lot of things are easier said than done; and this internship is definitely one of them.

But thankfully ( and I truly mean thankfully) I think I can do this until the end. I think I can clean this until the end of the three month mark.

Last night, I went out in my third night patrol with two other interns, and I have to say they really brought me up again.

Some places leave a mark in your mind because of the place itself; others are unforgettable because of the people you experience things with while there.

I think this place is one of those places.

Costa Rica: a world of its own...

Costa Rica: a world of its own…

In desperate times, all we have is hope; and as long as it’s strong enough, it’s the best you can hold on to.

Purda vida,
Moi

Music of the Moment:

4 thoughts on “I.M.POSSIBLE.

  1. Difficult experiences will either defeat you or build your character. Your decision will determine what direction you take. Remember “never change horses in midstream.” Stay cool and keep jammin!

  2. Stay strong Anna! You will have good days and bad days that come in waves. The hardest part is the first few weeks, but it gets better after that. Keep your chin up and try remember what an incredible difference you are making everyday for the turtles and the people around you. -Sarah

    • Thanks Sarah, I honestly do appreciate it! Things are getting better; I’m just taking it day by day. Patience really is the key, and I would be so disappointed if I don’t allow myself the chance to appreciate such an opportunity to do all those things and make such a change! Thanks for the encouragement and hope you’re well! 🙂

Leave a Reply

